Our Schoolyard in February

We are continuing our journey and comparing and contrasting our own school and others around the world. This week we went on a walk and took photos of our school yard in the winter. We created a book. Please view the book with your child and talk about their wonderings about the pond in winter.

You can look at the books posted on the collaborative blog We Can See Project at http://wecanseeprojectsharingspace.blogspot.ca/  Have a look at the little booklets that some of the students have made on their own. Creating a “We Can See” book at home would be a great family task to do together too.

About mrsharrisonlsps

I'm a Kindergarten teacher who is running a Full Day Early Learning Kindergarten Program. I am an Apple Distinguished Educator and a Discovery Educator Star.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our Schoolyard in February

  1. Erin says:

    This blog is great. I love to see what Kristen and the other kids are doing each day. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks for posting a comment. I would love to see more families posting comments to our blog entries. I hope the post provided you with a topic to ask Kristen questions about at home. Ask her about our walk to the pond. Find out what wonderings she has about snow, ice or a frozen pond. We begin exploring those topics this week in Science.

  3. Dilusha says:

    Thanks for the postings! It’s great to get details about the projects that are being completed at school. It provides us with an opportunity to discuss what Brighton has learned at school. Today we heard all about spheres, cones and rectangular prisms!

  4. Pingback: OTR Links 03/27/2013 | doug --- off the record

  5. adunsiger says:

    I just saw the link to your post on Doug Peterson’s blog, and his comment had me thinking. He spoke about how all students could get involved in this project, and he’s absolutely right! When I initially saw and read about your project, I was thinking about involvement of primary students, but why? We’re currently working on point of view as part of our TLCP, and I think that this project could be perfect!

    Students could work in class to take photographs of different areas outside of our school, and then add the text to create their own digital storybooks. Their text could be sharing these areas from different points of view. What might a principal say about these areas, versus a teacher, versus the students? Maybe they could even share some missing points of view. Who does not get a voice in what these areas look like and what they’re allowed to do in these different areas? My head is spinning right now with options. We’re starting a new project on Thursday that will take us until the beginning of the following week to complete, but this could be where we go after that. I see great opportunities for writing, media literacy, and possibly even The Arts.

    Thank you for getting me thinking! I’ll definitely be in touch!
    Aviva
    http://www.weinspirefutures.com

    • You always find ideas as springboards to new projects, that’s what I admire about you Aviva.
      I really like the idea of different points of view through digital storytelling.
      I hope our classes can connect and share their thinking.
      Angie

      • adunsiger says:

        Thanks Angie! I’m excited to explore some different options. I love that this is such a meaningful activity, and I know it’s one that my students would enjoy and would link to what we’re doing in class. I am going to play around with the assignment this weekend. I will share with you what I create. I’d love any feedback that you have as well.

        Thanks for getting me thinking!
        Aviva

Leave a Reply

